We are the Champions – Doncaster Rovers 0 Wigan Athletic 1


League One title winners

On a gloriously sunny day Wigan Athletic were crowned champions of League One after a comfortable 1-0 victory at Doncaster Rovers.

Latics only needed a point at the Keepmoat Stadium and it never looked like they would fall at the final hurdle as Doncaster failed to register a single shot on target.

Will Grigg’s superbly taken goal on 75 minutes ensured that they claimed the title by two points with a +18 goal difference over second placed Blackburn.

Latics finished off a club record-breaking campaign with the most goals scored, most clean sheets and the record number of away wins in a season.

Paul Cook made two changes to the starting line-up from the draw with AFC Wimbledon with Gavin Massey and Nick Powell replacing Gary Roberts and Ryan Colclough.

Neither team got going in the early stages of the game but it was Latics who showed first when Massey and Michael Jacobs combined but Jacobs’ final shot was saved by the feet of Rovers’ keeper Marko Marosi.

Samy Morsy then fired from the edge of the area but his low shot was straight at Marosi.

Latics were looking the most likely to break the deadlock and just before the interval Grigg turned well in the box but the striker couldn’t beat Marosi from close range.

It was more of the same in the second half as Latics went in search of the goal which would surely secure the title.

Grigg went close on two occasions, first getting on the end of Massey’s flick from the back post and then cleverly heading Jacobs’ in-swinging cross with the back of his head but Marosi once again saved Doncaster.

But Grigg was not to be denied and the prolific striker scored his 26th goal of the season on 75 minutes to send Latics’ fans into raptures.

Nick Powell’s superb through ball found Grigg one-on-one with Marosi and the striker finished with ease before jumping into the crowd and celebrating with the fans.

Doncaster continued to offer little threat going forward and Latics saw out the remaining minutes controlling possession and easing their way to the title.

Latics’ players and fans celebrated at the final whistle as they collected the League One Trophy for the second time in three seasons.



About ianhaspinall

Communications specialist, Wigan Athletic fan & blogger, interested in music, arts & culture.
This entry was posted in Blackburn Rovers, Doncaster Rovers, League One, Wigan Athletic, Will Grigg and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.